Crossing the Street

The lights turned red. The traffic halted. In a dark blue business suit, he was standing on the other side of the road. He was wearing a bright red tie which sparkled on the white cream shirt like a cherry dressing on a vanilla cake. He was murmuring something, for obvious reasons I could not hear, but at least could read from the movement of his lips. His expressions ranged from surprised, relieved to frustration. Two light blue colored headphone cords running from the sides of his face, across his neck met at a point close to his Adam’s apple to merge into a single light blue cord that went further down and vanished near the side pocket of his dark blue trousers.

The lights turned green. The vehicles emerged from the standstill traffic like a water flowing through the gates of a dam. Like an athlete hearing a gunshot, people rushed to reach the opposite side of the road. He started to walk casually in a carefree attitude, conflicting his business attire which suggested otherwise. Every step he took in my direction, the rhythm of my heart beat increased until it reached an uncontrollable tempo. I thought, “What if he hears it?” The time stopped as the moments turned into minutes, may be even longer. People were no longer walking at a fast pace to reach their destination. The noise of the surroundings was muffled by the pulsating beat of my heart, which then sounded more like drum beats. His eyes met mine finally yet, like an unfinished quest, my curious eyes kept looking into his eyes deeper, perhaps to explore some mystery. Our motions slowed down to a point where we were just standing in the middle of the road, as if it would hold the time as well. But it did not. Everyone else started to walk past two of us, few staring at us, few ignoring this sight.

A distant screeching sound grew louder and finally brought me back to the reality. A car was honking all this while, waiting for me to move aside the road. I glanced at him, hoping he would turn around and walk with me to the other side. By now the noise of car horn had become unbearable, I quickly turned around and walked towards the same place where I was standing initially. After crossing the road, I looked sideways in the hope that even he would be there. But he was not. He too had walked back, alas all the way back to end of the street. The traffic lights turned red. People began to cross the road. I stood there, my eyes watching him until he disappeared along with the road at the turn.

Image by cjelli

16 thoughts on “Crossing the Street

  1. Great story!! I really wanted to know what was gonna happen next! I know it’s hard to avoid the word “sparkle” and so on but maybe try different wording? I feel like words like that are overused but I think it may just be my own personal preference.

    • Thanks for reading it. It was just random thought about this situation so I didn’t think through the entire story. 🙂
      Appreciate your comment – I do try to avoid many a hyped words while writing but sometimes just can’t help. Point noted though. Thanks, see you around.

  2. Hey, this is some good stuff. I like the use of metaphors and slowing time down. I personally avoid metaphors because I become a bit purple when I use them haha. But you used them to great effect here (like the imagery of crossing the street with bursting dams and athlete jumping at the sound of the gun)

    I also like how it suggests a bigger story, especially since you make the reader ask several questions (like who is the narrator, why is s/he interested in the businessman and who is the businessman). I like it. It makes me curious and want to see where it leads or at least learn why the narrator is doing the things s/he chooses to do. And also I like how you present the narrator as a very introverted person, hoping for things without doing anything. Mostly living life inside his/her head and wishing for everything to come true. I need to work on that type of presentation!

    One VERY minor nitpick: In the last paragraph you misspelled “but” and use the word “butt”. Like I said, VERY minor

    • Wow! This is a great feedback, I must say – the best one I have ever come across. I really appreciate it. Yes, I enjoy the use of simile in my stories – helps to convey the feeling/ scene through visualization.

      Well, you have understood the bigger story/ character much better than I intended to like the introverted nature and of course the different perspectives of the narrator being he/ she – interested in the businessman! You are a very conscious reader – also evident in your writing.

      Oops, so spell-check doesn’t really put context together, does it? Thanks for spotting that VERY minor typo. I have corrected it. Thanks for stopping by, would be great to see you around again.

    • Thanks for reading. I am glad you liked it. Well, you haven’t read my earlier posts when I started blogging! It wasn’t truly a stream of consciousness – I edited few parts to make it more bearable to read! 😉

Your take? Your thoughts?

